Towards the end of 2013, Jungle burst onto the scene with their first two singles: “The Heat” and “Platoon.” Appearing out of nowhere and propelled by word of mouth online, the group transformed over the next few years from an anonymous production duo to a personality-filled seven-piece live band built around the core founding duo of Josh Lloyd-Watson and Tom McFarland (known respectively as “J” and “T”)—best friends since the age of nine, having grown up on the same road in Shepherds Bush, London. They formed Jungle in 2013 and their 2014 debut album was one of the year’s defining debut records—one that would end up nominated for the UK’s Mercury Music Prize and go on to sell over 500,000 copies. 

More recently, Jungle have returned with a set of new songs, “Happy Man” and “House In LA,” taken from their forthcoming second album and each showcasing a different side of their sound. We’re told that if Jungle’s first album was their imaginary soundtrack to the places they had never been, their new record captures the landscapes they had so often dreamed of. To write and record the new album, J and T swapped Shepherds Bush for the Hollywood Hills. Their romanticization of The California Dream clashed with the reality of living it—although the experience led them back home to London to finish the album, the journey itself ultimately defined the music it produced.

In support of the impending album, the duo have compiled a rare studio mix. Their submission, titled COMPUTERS ARE EASY, PEOPLE ARE HARD, is a two-hour insight into the duo’s favorite tracks past and present, featuring works from Minor Science, Burial, Floating Points, and many more. 

How has 2018 been for you so far?

It’s been really fun! We’ve pretty much been on the road for most of it, but that’s where we operate best. Releasing the two new singles in May was a real milestone for us, and we’re really happy that the fans are enjoying the new material.

When and where was this mix recorded?

It was recorded in our home studio where we have some decks—we find it’s good for creativity in the studio to be able to take your mind off the recording/writing process. 

On what equipment did you record it?

Pioneer CDJ2000 Nexus. The process is a little complicated as we bought them in the US, so they need a step up transformer—which sometimes decides to stop working halfway through a mix.

How did you select the records you included?

Whether we’re in clubs or listening to NTS or other internet radio stations, we always have an ear out for new tunes. Shazam is useful when you don’t have a clue what something is and no one else does either. 

Was there a particular idea you were looking to convey?

Not really, we just want to have fun with what we do and be as playful as possible with genre and mood. It’s good to surprise people with what you can mix together. 

What can we expect from your new album?

It’s definitely a more emotional and psychedelic record. There are some beautiful cinematic moments that we really enjoyed making. 

What else do you have coming up this year?

More touring! Festivals across Europe and America this summer and then on to some exciting things that we can’t talk about just yet.

Due to temporary issues regarding the GDPR, EU readers can download the podcast here.


01. To Dream Of Autumn “Computers Are Easy”

02. Raja “Ghost Child”

03. Photay “Off-Piste”

04. Burial “Rodent”

05. Minor Science “Volumes”

06. Maribou State “Wallflower” (Ross From Friends Remix)

07. Tame Impala “Gossip” (Tadan Edit)

08. Recloose “Can’t Take It” (Herbert’s Some Dumb Dub)

09. Jess & Crabbe “F9 Riot Squad”

10. Sound Stream “Inferno”

12. JKD “Dream Machine” (SMBD ’79 Disco Edit)

12. Max Graef “B.E.”

13. DJ Grillo Wiener “Disco Fire”

14. Alex Seidel “-+Encounter-” // Loleatta Holloway “Stand Up” (Acapella)

15. Jynx “Together”

16. Loazo “Ketjak” (Lurka Remix)

17. The Maghreban “Now Easy”

18. Fort Romeau “Emu III” (Birdy Bonus Beat)

19. Zulu “Incleh” (Wes Edit)

20. Uffe “Those Insecure Designers” (Wes Edit)

21. Floating Points “Ratio”

22. Photay “Balsam Massacre”

23. Manuel Darquart “Gutterball”

24. Merle “Fannie Likes 2 Dance”

25. Daphni “Xing Tian”

26. Midland “Checkbob”

27. Addison Groove “Shango” (O’Flynn Remix)

28. Tom Blip “Wrong Guaco”

29. Tame Impala “Endors Toi” (The Cyclist Remix)

30. Youandewan “Have The Guts” 

31. Raja “The Storm” 

32. Mount Kimbie “Four Years And One Day”

33. Makeness “Day Old Death”

34. Bonobo “Bambro Koyo Ganda”

35. Mount Liberation Unlimited “Double Dance Lover”

36. Kenix “There’s Never Been No One Like You”

37. AL Kent & Rhond Durand “Disco Fever Pt.3”

38. Y. Gershovsky “Disco Baby” (Floating Points and Red Greg Edit)