In the late ’00s, Buraka Som Sistema introduced much of the world to the energetic Angolan sounds of kuduro (which translates literally as “hard ass”), most notably with the release of its seminal album Black Diamond in 2008. Since then, the Portuguese outfit has put plenty of its own spin on the genre, and has actively encouraged other producers to cross-pollinate diverse types of dance music such as baile funk, tropical bass, cumbia, and of course house, bass, and techno. Through its Enchufada imprint, the group has also released six mini compilations called Hard Ass Sessions, in which BSS recruited producers such as Douster, Dubbel Dutch, Brenmar, and Kingdom to try their hand at the kuduro sound. Next week, the best of the various Hard Ass Sessions will be available as one 21-track compilation that will also feature a mix from founding BSS member J-WOW and a previously unheard tune from Slap in the Bass. Bok Bok‘s “Dance Report,” which originally appeared on Hard Ass Sessions Volume II, is a hard-edged bit of kuduro-inspired bass/electro that will be featured on both the CD and digital versions of the comp. Take a look at the artwork for the Hard Ass Compilation, above, and check out the full tracklisting after the jump.

01. Nic Sarno – Mana Wasa
02. Savage Skulls – Marawa
03. Brenmar – Waiting On
04. Oliver Twizt & Rockid – Wanna Be Gangstas
05. Poirier – Vivendo Juntos
06. Krywolf – Shakedown
07. Melé – Kanopa Riddim
08. Kingdom – Stadium Pass
09. Seiji – Buzzcut
10. J-Wow & Toy Selectah – Mo’Chaxo
11. Slap in the Bass – Tapa
12. Wildlife – Metazoa
13. Pocz & Pacheko – Tuki Love
14. Dubbel Dutch – Dead Pool
15. Bok Bok – Dance Report
16. Douster – A Mi A Loco
17. Zombies For Money – Me Toca So*
18. Martelo vs. Canblaster – Cannibal*
19. Bert On Beats – Bassy Baile*
20. Cardopusher – Tu Bizcochito*
21. Schlachthofbronx – Backup Run*

*digital only

Dance Report