Informed by the machine rhythms of early electro and their youth spent spray-painting garages and breakdancing on kitchen linoleum, Fujiya & Miyagi’s latest album, Flashback, is their funkiest to date, merging the sounds of Man Parrish, Clock DVA, Nitzer Ebb, and Le Tigre around African signatures pulsating krautrock, all delivered in their trademark dead-pan style. 

The seven-track release, out May 31 via Redeye, is the latest addition to a 20-year discography that also encompasses 2011’s Ventriloquizzing, 2014’s Artificial Sweeteners, and their Impossible Objects of Desire EP trilogy released throughout 2016 and 2017. It sees them looking to the past in order to move forward. “I think we felt we’d taken the previous records’ strengths as far as they could go and were wary of repeating ourselves,” says vocalist David Best. “We grew up submerged in early ’80s electronic pop songs and I feel this is an unashamedly nostalgic record.”

In support of the album, we’re offering “Personal Space” as one of today’s free downloads. Grab it now via the WeTransfer button below, or here for EU readers due to temporary GDPR restrictions. Pre-order for the album is here


01. Flashback 

02. Personal Space

03. For Promotional Use Only

04. Fear of Missing Out

05. Subliminal

06. Dying Swan Act

07. Gammon