London duo Royalty is getting set to release a new EP, the five-track Purple Nights. The EP, which includes a remix from Jimmy Edgar, drops November 21 on vinyl, with a digital release a week later, but the pair has let slip “Heart Strings” in the meantime. Although the boy-girl duo hails from London and rubs elbows with the local house/garage/post-everything crowd, its music takes more cues from ’80s electro-funk than the so-called hardcore continuum. With its slappy basslines, vintage synths, and generally funky vibe, “Heart Strings” is a perfect example of what Royalty has on offer. Check the Purple Nights EP artwork and tracklist, along with an audio preview, after the jump.

1. Cookie Dough
2. Cookie Dough (Jimmy Edgar’s Cookie Monster)
3. Heart Strings
4. Octane
5. Halley’s Trail (Digital Only)

XLR8R Couldn't find the embed function for type: "soundcloud" and source: "<embed allowscriptaccess="always" height="81" src="" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="100%">".

Heart Strings