Berlin-based up-and-comer Jian Kellet Liew (a.k.a. Kyson) has shared “Missing Things”, the opening track from his debut LP, The Water’s Way. The slowly unraveling production finds the beatmaker layering soft, Wurlitzer chords and a syrupy half-time beat with his own echo-laden vocals, eventually building the music’s intensity with a buzzy synthesizer melody and some loose percussion overdubs. There’s a subtle melancholy at work in “Missing Things,” which isn’t far removed from many of the songs Kyson included in a mix he recently submitted for Portals. And before The Water’s Way is released on September 24 via Friends of Friends, its tracklist and artwork can be found after the jump.

01 – We’ve Been Inside For Too Long
02 – Missing Things
03 – No Such Thing As Me
04 – She Said to me Quietly
05 – Ran Away
06 – How Long
07 – Moments in the Background
08 – My Mother’s Eyes
09 – Ceremonies
10- Shadows Cross

Kyson-Missing Things