Since its inception in 2007, Rob Booth’s Electronic Explorations podcast has consistently provided listeners with cutting-edge music from underground and emerging artists. Booth’s taste and execution has resulted in widespread popularity and influence, demonstrated by the fact that his show now claims up to 80,000 listeners a week. With such a large listener base (not to mention a new website), Booth has noted that financing Electronic Explorations has become increasingly difficult. In order to raise funds to help keep his program afloat, Booth has solicited tracks from scores of producers from around the world to compile into an enormous 60-song collection that will cost buyers just ?5. “On the Road 2010” is the entry from UK producer Djrum, and is a mellow and fuzzy bit of bass music working in the same beat-step realm as, say, Shlohmo or Shigeto. The song’s melodies are provided by strings and chopped, pitched-up vocals, which give the tune a moody and somewhat dark feel. The forthcoming compilation, aptly titled Electronic Explorations, is set for a July 1 release, at which time you’ll be able to hear exclusive tunes from the likes of Machinedrum, Ital Tek, Chrissy Murderbot, Al Tourettes, Kahn, Akkord, Distal, Trevino, and many, many more. Submissions from a handful of the artists—including Akkord, Ital Tek, Kowton, and others—have already emerged on Booth’s SoundCloud, and you can pre-order the album now on Bandcamp, where you’ll also find the complete tracklist and release details.

On the Road 2010