In the words of Takka Takka member Gabe Levine, the band’s new record, Migration, is about experimenting with sound and form, being in places one doesn’t belong, honesty, and his mother. What that adds up to on the track “Silence” is a lyrical landscape about loneliness layered down over catchy guitar hooks and snares. The band, who has been playing together since 2004, commissioned Sean Greenhalgh (Clap Your Hands Say Yeah) to produce the album, which was recorded in Brooklyn and also features performances by The National’s Bryan Devendorf and Lee Sargent of CYHSY. It’s indie-pop at its most ambitious, and we’re loving every layer of this tune.

Takka Takka – Silence