Homespun electronic duo High Places will soon be releasing a new album, Original Colors, its third full-length. “Year Off” is the first offering from the record, and it finds the LA-based pair glossing up its sound a bit. While High Places could once be relied upon to turn out precious, found-sound-laden electronic pop gems, “Year Off” takes cues from Italo and electro and definitely seems more suited for the dancefloor than the group’s previous efforts, although it’s worth noting that the lo-fi drum sounds may not be quite ready for the club. Nevertheless, Mary Pearson’s airy vocals are alluring as ever and “Year Off” is a pleasant little gem in its own right, even if it marks a new sonic path for the band. We won’t know how far that path diverges from High Places’ past until Original Colors drops on October 11, but in the meantime, everyone can gander at the artwork and complete tracklist, both of which are posted after the jump.

01 Year Off
02 The Pull
03 Morning Ritual
04 Banksia
05 Ahead Stop
06 Dry Lake
07 Sonora
08 Sophia
09 Twenty-Seven
10 Altos Lugares

Year Off