Alva Noto is back with the fourth instalment of his Xerrox series.

Xerrox is a five-piece series based on the concept of digital replication of source material. Using the process of copying as a basis, the series deals with the manipulation of data by means of endless reproduction, which allows everyday sounds to become so altered that they can be hardly associated with the source material. As a result, entirely new sounds are created; copies of originals become originals themselves.

The release follows Vol. 1 (2007), Vol. 2 (2009), and Vol. 3 (2015), and unlike its predecessors, whose starting point is a set of samples extracted from external sources and fragments of recordings, Vol. 4 “compounds under a unified cinematic soundscape, warm chords, thrumming digital ambiences, liquified electronics, drones, and noise sustained by floods of strings,” we’re told.

“This fourth volume shuns further from the conceptualism and orderliness of prior musical outputs, ranging from heart-warming elegies to mind-bending sci-fi projections in extrasolar territories,” Noton, the label, continues.


01. Xerrox Kirlian
02. Xerrox Neige
03. Xerrox Yoyage
04. Xerrox Plongée
05. Xerrox Cosmos
06. Xerrox Île
07. Xerrox Argo
08. Xerrox Calypsoid 1
09. Xerrox Canaux
10. Xerrox Utopia
11. Xerrox Sans Retour
12. Xerrox Calypsoid 2
13. Xerrox Apesanteur
14. Xerrox Néant

Xerrox Vol. 4 LP is available on vinyl, CD, and digitally on June 19. Meanwhile, you can stream “Xerrox Voyage” in full via the player below, and pre-order the album here.