XLR8R readers are probably familiar with the instrumental space-disco music emanating mysteriously from Norway by producers like Hans Peter Lindstrøm, Prins Thomas, and the whole Feedelity Records camp. Truly, we bask in their warped euphony. And what Norway lacks in population–about four million residents total–it makes up for in talent.

One such gem is singer-songwriter Ane Brun, an enchanting chanteuse who drops her fifth full-length (the second released in the U.S.), Changing of the Seasons, on Cheap Lullaby October 14.

Although trading mostly in folky, indie-pop numbers, Brun has allegiances with club audiences via her single “Headphone Silence,” which was remixed by Henrik Schwartz and Dennis Ferrer for the latter’s Objektivity label. A full remix project, Ane Brun Objektified, is due out soon.

Songs from Changing of the Seasons featured on Brun’s MySpace page reveal complex arrangements incorporating her fragile, Stevie Nicks-esque voice and acoustic guitar work sculpted with orchestral string touches. Brun’s music is classic A.M. radio balladry that sounds like a druggy Dolly Parton singing haunted Nick Drake tunes.

Seasons entered the Scandinavian charts at number one, and its prospects for North America have “breakout” written all over them. The album was produced by Valgeir Sigurdsson (Björk, Sigur Rós, Múm, Bonnie Prince Billy, Coco Rosie, Maps, and more). Look for Brun performing on these shores soon.

Changing of the Seasons
01 The Treehouse Song
02 The Fall
03 The Puzzle
04 My Star
05 Ten Seconds
06 Changing of the Seasons
07 Lullaby for Grown-Ups
08 Raise My Head
09 Armour
10 Round Table Conference
11 Gillian
12 Don’t Leave
13 Linger with Pleasure

10/22 New York, NY: The Living Room
10/24 Arlington, VA: Iota Club and Café
10/25 Norfolk, VA: Attucks Theatre
10/28 San Francisco, CA: Café Du Nord
10/30 Los Angeles, CA: Hotel Café
11/01 Chicago, IL: Schubas Tavern

Photo by I Made This.