Fresh from the insanely dense, textured Orchestra of Bubbles collaboration with fellow Berliner Ellen Alien, Sascha Ring (a.k.a. Apparat) is set to release Walls, his first solo beast since 2003’s Duplex.

This time around, Ring avoids serving up another dish of melancholy, software-heavy tech-pop, opting instead to follow the likes of Trentemøller, Lusine, and Shitkatapult’s T. Raumschmiere by utilizing live strings and guitars, as well as plenty of other acoustics. Ring says that the record “isn’t really a focused and conceptual production. When I made Walls, I was just collecting some of the best ideas out of a folder, with around 70 unfinished tracks, and finishing them.”

Telefon Tel Aviv’s Josh Eustis did the final mixdown in Chi-town, Kathrin Pfander and Lisa Verena Stepf of Complexácord handled the string arrangements, and Raz Ohara (Kitty-Yo) contributed soothing vocals.

Walls is out May 25, 2007 on Shitkatapult.

1. Not A Number
2. Hailin’ from the Edge
3. Useless Information
4. Limelight
5. Holdon (feat. Raz Ohara)
6. Fractales Pt.1
7. Fractales Pt.2
8. Birds
9. Arcadia
10. You Don´t Know Me
11. Headup
12. Over and Over
13. Like Porcelain