Donovan Jones, better known as Black Taffy, will release his Elder Mantis LP via LA’s Leaving Records next month. 

Elder Mantis, his debut album, is the culmination of Black Taffy’s works thus far. At 12 tracks, it is a meditative and soothing listen, synthesizing the heavy warmth of deep bass with the melodic hum of harps and other stringed instruments. It follows 2018’s “Geraldine,” which is also included on this LP. 

Jones is a composer and performer whose current focus lies in pairing ambient music with big bass and percussion.The first born son of Pentecostal music ministers, he grew up witnessing the power music has to induce trance and encourage spiritual awakening. Eventually drawing parallels between christianity, voodoo, and the occult, Jones left the former to immerse himself in the latter. 

Sometimes performing with only vibraphone and cassette decks, he frequently employs the use of tape loops and other antiquated mediums to create pillowy worlds of wow and flutter. 

Jones last appeared on Leaving with July’s Parlour Arcana cassette tape. 


01. Divining Rod

02. Corridors

03. Geraldine

04. Land Of Nod

05. Windflower

06. Switchback

07. Jaguarundi

08. Private Shadows

09. Border Reeds

10. Lantern Flies In Mist

11. Para Los Campana

12. The Empty Mirror

Elder Mantis LP lands on February 15, with “Lantern Flies In Mist” streaming below.