It’s been nearly three years since one of Brooklyn’s most prized lo-fi noise-rock outfits, Blood on the Wall, released its acclaimed Awesomer. Now, with similar acts like Liars, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and TV on the Radio creeping into celebrity status, it may be this trio’s turn to step into the limelight with its third long-player, Liferz.

Set for release January 22 on Brooklyn’s Social Registry imprint, this slightly heavier release sees the New York band staying true to its minimalist punk roots while delivering an album as interesting as the best Sonic Youth tracks and as urgent and aggitated as any punk band making it into The New York Times. Is the world ready for punk’s second coming? Blood on the Wall’s Liferz will be the final testament, if you ask us.

1. Hibernation
2. The Ditch
3. Liferz
4. Lightning Song
5. Junkee…Julieee
6. Go Go Go
7. Rize
8. Sorry Sorry Sarah
9. The X
10. Turn Around and Shut Up
11. Acid Fight