Quango Records is releasing the first-ever Bob Marley remix that’s actually receiving approval from both the Marley family and Island Records’ founder Chris Blackwell–far from an easy task, given Marley’s profoundly timeless production. Fortunately, Roots, Rock, Remixed’s sole aim is to respect the original recordings, while updating them for the dancefloor–not the mass market (if that’s possible). And if the Marley family approves, the Marley family approves.

Though the originals were obviously treated exclusively with analog tools, Roots, Rock, Remixed uses state-of-the-art digital technology to bang out these reinterpretations. With dance vets like Jimpster, Trio Elétrico (Boozoo Bajou), and DJ Spooky at the reigns, it’s hard to believe that the remixes will have trouble livening up any dancefloor, regardless of whether or not they stay true to the originals.

Quango stresses the tracks were not treated too roughly, and that everyone involved in the project maintained a great deal of respect for Mr. Marley’s work and legendary status. According to the collection’s co-producer. David Hargis, “These are many of the seed songs for Bob. He went back through his catalog and updated many of them for Island later in his career. In a sense, we’re doing the same thing with these remixes.”

Only time will tell whether or not the remixes will carry on Marley’s untouched legacy or become another clearance-bin compilation, but for now, we’ll put our faith in the project.

1. Soul Shakedown Party (Afrodisiac Sound System Remix)
2. Lively Up Yourself (Bombay Dub Orchestra Remix)
3. Duppy Conqueror (Fort Knox Five Remix)
4. Sun Is Shining (Yes King Remix)
5. Soul Rebel (Afrodisiac Sound System Remix)
6. African Herbsman (King Kooba Remix)
7. Don’t Rock My Boat (STUHR Remix)
8. Small Axe (Paul & Price Remix)
9. Rainbow Country (DJ Spooky’s Subliminal Funk Remix)
10. Trenchtown Rock (Trio Elétrico Remix)
11. 400 Years (Jimpster Remix)
12. One Love (Cordovan Remix)