Brandon Coleman has unveiled a video for new track “All Around The World,” lifted from his forthcoming album Resistance, released September 14 via Brainfeeder

We’re told that Resistance is a “powerful statement” from an artist who is passionate about hybridity and innovation—stitching together threads from jazz, disco, boogie, R&B, electro, soul, and funk. “I’ve been in the studio a lot in recent years, writing with this or that artist and I always felt constrained… like I had to compromise and submit to a ‘pop’ sensibility,” he explains. “This time I just wanted to create something that was really free… something original… to incorporate all the styles that I represent, because often when I’ve tried to do that in the past it’s been met with resistance.”

The list of artists with whom Coleman has collaborated ranges from Ciara to Mulatu Astatke and Childish Gambino to Shuggie Otis—but one of his most consistent studio partners during the last decade has been R&B icon Babyface. “I’ve learned a lot from him… working on countless projects… he would just call me at any time and say: ‘Hey man, I’m in the studio with Aretha Franklin at the piano and I want you to come in and help us arrange some songs.’ And I would be like: Erm ok, I’m on my way,'” he says. “Those experiences shaped the way I hear and appreciate music”.

Coleman has previously worked with Flying Lotus on music for Bladerunner, FlyLo’s directorial debut Kuso, and he also plays keys on “Until The Quiet Comes” and “You’re Dead!”


01. Live For Today

02. All Around The World

03. A Letter To My Buggers

04. Addiction (feat. Sheera)

05. Sexy

06. There’s No Turning Back

07. Resistance

08. Sundae (feat. N’Dambi)

09. Just Reach For The Stars

10. Love

11. Giant Feelings (feat. Patrice Quinn & Techdizzle)

12. Walk Free

Resistance LP will land on September 14 via Brainfeeder, with “All Around The World” streaming in full via the player below.