Photo: Shamil Tanna

Brian Eno has announced an expanded edition of Apollo: Atmospheres and Soundtracks, the 1983 album he made with Daniel Lanois and his brother Roger Eno.

Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks was originally recorded in 1983 for the landmark feature-length documentary “For All Mankind,” which was directed by American journalist, film director, and screenwriter Al Reinert. The film features 35mm footage of the Apollo 11 moon landing with real-time commentary, as well as the Apollo astronauts sharing their recollections of the momentous events surrounding it. 

This upcoming new edition will be released on July 19 in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing. It features the original album remastered by Abbey Road’s Miles Showell, as well as an accompanying album of 11 new instrumental compositions that reimagine the soundtrack to For All Mankind. These new works find the Eno brothers and Daniel Lanois working collectively for the first time since the original album. 

Last year, Eno compiled Music For Installations, a nine-LP box set of his unreleased work for various art and video installations. 

Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks—Extended Edition lands July 19 via UMC, with the video for “Like I Was A Spectator,” which features rare NASA footage, streaming below. 

The release comes as a 2LP 180gram vinyl in a gatefold sleeve, and there will also be a 2CD edition with a 24-page hardcover book. There will also be a standard 2CD edition and a special digital edition with exclusive cover art. A standard digital edition will also be available. Pre-order is available here


Disc 1: Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks—Remastered

01. Under Stars (4:29)

02. The Secret Place (3:31)

03. Matta (4:20)

04. Signals (2:47)

05. An Ending (Ascent) (4:24)

06. Under Stars II (3:23)

07. Drift (3:05)

08. Silver Morning (2:40)

09. Deep Blue Day (3:58)

10. Weightless (4:35)

11. Always Returning (4:04)

12. Stars (8:02)

 Disc 2: For All Mankind       

01. The End Of A Thin Cord (4:08)

02. Capsule (3:13)

03. At The Foot Of A Ladder (3:35)

04. Waking Up (2:29)

05. Clear Desert Night (3:11)

06. Over The Canaries (4:41)

07. Last Step From The Surface (3:58)

08. Fine-grained (3:34)

09. Under The Moon (3:10)

10. Strange Quiet (4:09)

11. Like I Was A Spectator (4:23)