Musician, producer, visual artist, thinker, and activist Brian Eno will soon release Music For Installations, a collection of new, rare, and previously unreleased tracks, all of which will be available on vinyl for the first time.

Eno first came to international prominence in the early ’70s as a founding member of Roxy Music, and immediately followed with a series of critically-praised and influential solo albums. His visionary production includes albums with David Bowie, Talking Heads, Devo, Laurie Anderson, and Coldplay, whilst his long list of collaborations includes recordings with John Cale, David Byrne, Grace Jones, and James Blake.

Less widely discussed are his visual experiments with light and video. These are the fertile ground from which so much of his other work has grown. These works have been exhibited all over the globe, from the Venice Biennale and the Marble Palace in St. Petersburg to Beijing’s Ritan Park and the sails of the Sydney Opera House.

Designed by Brian and long-time collaborator Nick Robertson, the package comes with a 64-page booklet featuring rare and unseen exhibition photographs and a new essay written by Eno.


Music From Installations (previously unreleased):

01: Kazakhstan
Premiered at the Asif Khan-designed installation “We Are Energy” in the UK Pavilion at Astana Expo 2017 in Kazakhstan.

02: The Ritan Bells
Premiered at an installation by Eno at Ritan Park in Beijing, China as part of the British Council’s “Sound in the City” series, 2005.

03: Five Light Paintings
Premiered at an installation by Eno called “Pictures Of Venice” at the Gallerie Cavallino, in Venice, Italy, 1985.

04: Flower Bells
Premiered at an installation by Eno called “Light Music” at the Castello Svevo in Bari, Italy, 2017.

77 Million Paintings (previously unreleased):

01: 77 Million Paintings
Premiered at the inaugural exhibition of “77 Million Paintings” at La Foret Museum Tokyo, Japan, 2006.

Lightness – Music For The Marble Palace (previously only available as a limited-run CD, via Enostore only):

01: Atmospheric Lightness

02: Chamber Lightness
Premiered at the Eno installation “Lightness in the Marble Palace” at The State Russian Museum in St Petersburg, Russia, 1997.

I Dormienti’ / Kite Stories (previously only available as separate limited run CDs, via Enostore only):

01: I Dormienti
Premiered at an eponymous installation by the Italian sculptor Mimmo Paladino at The Undercroft of The Roundhouse in London, 1999.

02: Kites I
03: Kites II
04: Kites III
Premiered at an installation by Brian Eno at the Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art in Helsinki, Finland, 1999.

Making Space (limited-run CD previously only available at Eno installations and on the Lumen website):

01: Needle Click
02: Light Legs
03: Flora and Fauna / Gleise 581d
04: New Moons
05: Vanadium
06: All The Stars Were Out
07: Hopeful Timean Intersect
08: World Without Wind
09: Delightful Universe (seen from above)

Compiled by Eno for sale exclusively at his installations, this was first made available while guest artistic director of the Brighton Festival, 2010.

Music For Future Installations’ (previously unreleased):

01: Unnoticed Planet
02: Liquidambar
03: Sour Evening (Complex Heaven 3)
04: Surbahar Sleeping Music

Music For Installations will be released worldwide by UMC on May 4, with “Kazakhstan” streaming in full above.