Here at XLR8R, we have never been shy about our admiration for the work of Patrick Cowley, the pioneering disco producer credited with developing the hi-NRG sound that defined San Francisco’s gay-disco scene of the late ’70s and early ’80s. Now, following last year’s School Daze collection of unearthed Cowley gems, SF-based labels Dark Entries (the subject of a recent Get Familiar piece) and HNYTRX have again combined forces to bring a number of the late disco artist’s lost tracks to life, with plans to reissue Cowley’s and Jorge Socarras‘ collaborative Catholic LP next month.

Set to be released on vinyl for the first time, Catholic is said to be “a genre-­bending concept album that ranges from minimalistic proto-techno to synth-­driven post-­punk.” Recorded between 1975 and 1977, the album finds Cowley playing drums, guitar, and keyboards while Socarras appears on vocal duties. Officially out on November 12, the upcoming double-LP reissue can be previewed below. For those looking to brush up on the Cowley story, we suggest taking another glance at our past feature which looked back on the man’s musical legacy.

01 Memory Fails Me
02 Robot Children (Do You Love Your)
03 I Never Want To Fall In Love
04 I’ll Come See You
05 I Remember
06 Cars Collide
07 She Had Her Nerve
08 Eddie Go To My Head
09 Room
10 Soon
11 I Am Your Tricks
12 In And Out
13 Lost Horizon
14 You Laugh At My Face
15 Burn Brighter Flame
16 Hurdy Gurdy Man