We’d like to think that the majority of XLR8R readers will remember who Deltron 3030 is, even if it has been 13 years since the hip-hop supergroup released its seminal, self-titled debut. Regardless, the trio of Del the Funky Homosapien, Kid Koala, and Dan the Automator has come out of obscurity to announce its return with Deltron 3030: Event II, the outfit’s second studio LP. Featuring an oddball cast of high-profile collaborators—including comedian David Cross, SNL-affiliated joke band The Lonely Island, Bay Area vocalist extraordinaire Mike Patton, Rage Against the Machine’s Zach De La Rocha, and, strangely enough, A-list actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt, among others—Deltron 3030’s 16-track album is scheduled to arrive on October 1 via Dan the Automator’s own Bulk Recordings.

In speaking on the themes of his new music, Del says, “The Deltron world has gone too far with technology. Everything’s destroyed, and you just see the remnants of our technology. The streets are run by criminals, the police are outnumbered and outgunned, and we’re like pirates, running rogue, doing what we do to survive. That’s the scene of it. We’re trying to be as literary as possible while dealing with a musical format. I don’t know if you could even categorize this as a hip hop album—it’s more like a rock opera, but using rap.” He goes on to explain that Deltron 3030: Event II is “beyond a regular album,” and will surprise fans and critics alike. The trio’s new LP will be preceded by the City Rising from the Ashes EP on August 13, the lead single from which can be streamed below, where the tracklist, artwork, and trailer for Event II can also be found.

1. Stardate (ft. Joseph Gordon-Levitt)
2. The Return
3. Pay the Price
4. Nobody Can (ft. Aaron Bruno of AWOL Nation)
5. Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 1 (ft. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn)
6. Melding of the Minds (ft. Zach De La Rocha)
7. The Agony (ft. Mary Elizabeth Winstead)
8. Back in the Day (ft. The Lonely Island)
9. Talent Supersedes (ft. Black Rob)
10. Look Across the Sky (ft. Mary Elizabeth Winstead)
11. The Future of Food (ft. David Chang)
12. My Only Love (ft. Emily Wells)
13. What Is This Loneliness (ft. Damon Albarn and Casual)
14. Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 2 (ft. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn)
15. City Rising From the Ashes (background vocals by Mike Patton)

16. Do You Remember (ft. Jamie Cullum)