In case you weren’t hip to the recent wave of South African-style house music, commonly referred to as Township Funk, that’s been making its way throughout the clubs and parties of the dance music community the world over, there is a new compilation to get you up to speed. London’s New State Music has gotten one of South Africa’s top DJs, DJ QNess, to mix a 20-song compilation of what is pretty much a greatest-hits collection from the genre’s recent history. Some standouts include DJ Storm’s “Run Against the Wind,” Mzo Bullet’s “Casablanca,” and the inescapable anthem, “Township Funk,” from Mujava. A player with a few samples from the mix and the full tracklist can be found below. Township Funk is available now from New State Music.

XLR8R Couldn't find the embed function for type: "soundcloud" and source: "<embed allowscriptaccess="always" height="205" src=";secret_url=false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="100%">".

Township Funk (Album Sampler) by townshipfunk

01 DJ Fresca & Kudoskelem – Bring Out The Worst In Me
02 MR FM – Dragon Fly
03 Queens of Dance – Thamba Wena
04 DJ Mphulo Presents Angelo Agnelli – Off The Wall (Tshwara Lebota)
05 Mujava – Township Funk
06 Mogrigo – Heavyweight
07 McLloyd – Tembisa Funk
08 Josi Chave ft. Oluhle – Hlala (Extended Mix)
09 DJ Killer & Nyekx ft. Lady B – Dansa
10 DJ Qness ft. Khanyi – The Light
11 DJ Lugz – Lugzora
12 Double Trouble – Mamelodi Funk
13 DJ Storm – 2010
14 DJ Qness & Aero Manyelo – Lennen
15 Mujava – Mugwanti
16 DJ Tulz – Toolz Down
17 Mzo Bullet – Casablanca
18 DJ Storm – Run Against The Wind
19 Wakes – PE Funk (Masters Re Edit mix)
20 DJ Tulz – Sismazweni