DJ-Kicks has tapped up Life and Death label founder DJ Tennis for the next installment in its long-running and landmark series.

DJ Tennis is Manfredi Romano, a lifelong music fanatic who has 20 years experience in music and started out managing punk bands, progressed to putting on leftfield events, started one of the most important Italian rock and electronic booking agencies, then started the Life and Death label.

The Italian is the first artist to ever be granted not one but two discs across which to showcases his style. Disc 1 is “a slow burning seventy-minute electronic trip that mixes plaintive piano with suspensory synths, gentle broken beats, and textured sound sources with subtle and supple minimal grooves,” according to the label. It features cuts from Rephlex‘s Bochum Welt, Jon Hopkins, Mouse and Mars, Isolée, and Four Tet, to name a few.

Disc 2, meanwhile, is “more energetic but just as considered, so is perfect for sunny afternoons or long drives.” Big names like Traumprinz and Robert Hood build the tempo, Kenny Dixon Jr. provides soulful party moment and classic electro slickness from The Other People Place help oil things along.



01. K. Leimer “Acquiescence”
02. Bochum Welt “La Nuit”
03. Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto “Aurora”
04. Jon Hopkins “Vessel”
05. Adam Johnson “Anex”
06. Pole “Raum 2” (DJ Tennis Technoid Version)
07. Monolake “Pio”
08. Byetone “Neuschnee”
09. Mouse on Mars & Atom TM “Key My Brain”
10. Bauri “Twinkle Stars”
11. Rival Consoles “Recovery”
12. Oval “Textuell”
13. Isolée “Allowance”
14. Caribou “Melody Day” (Four Tet Remix Featuring Luke Lalonde, Adem And One Little Plane)
15. D’Arcangelo “N-Tower”


01. Basic Channel “Q Loop”
02. Frank Bretschneider “Go! Said The Bird” (Tennis Version)
03. Red Axes “Paratrooper”
04. Traumprinz “Intrinity”
05. Robert Hood “Escapes” (6:47)
06. Kenny Dixon Jr. “Soul Sounds”
07. Rhythm & Sound “Mango Drive”
08. Marcello Giordani “Perché non Vuoi Ballare?”
09. The Other People Place “Let Me Be Me”
10. Biosphere “Ikata-1”
11. Roby J “Crossed Movements” (LOM Extended Version)
12. MBG “Jumping Trip”
13. Loscil “Sickbay”
14. Maribou State “The Clown Feat. Pedestrian” (Axel Boman Remix)
15. DJ Tennis feat. Fink “Certain Angles” (DJ-Kicks)
16. Kona Triangle “Astorias Ascent”

DJ Tennis’ contribution is scheduled for July 14 release.