“Everything I do now started with record collecting. It’s the foundation of my career; from writing about music, DJing in clubs, putting compilations together or spending many late-night hours, glass of red wine in hand, bidding on stupid records on eBay.” – Bill Brewster

Spanning 41 tracks, Tribal Rites is a musical autobiography of sorts from one of dance music’s most dedicated historians, Bill Brewster. Released this November on three CDs and double vinyl via Belgium’s Eskimo Recordings, the compilation takes us on a personal journey through Bill’s 36-year involvement in the music industry.

Whether running DMC’s New York offices or labels including Twisted UK and Forensic, being one of Fabric’s original residents, writing (with Frank Broughton) probably the definitive overview of DJ culture, the seminal “Last Night A DJ Saved My Life” and the equally essential “How To DJ (Properly),” running the DJhistory website or promoting their much loved Low Life parties, Bill’s fingerprints can be found all over dance music’s past few decades.

Split into three sections, the compilation begins in the post-punk period, and through tracks such as explores the influence of dub on bands of the time. The second section takes us into that mish-mash of sounds and styles best described as “Balearic,” while the final section then concentrates exclusively on house music, though again showcasing just what a broad church house is.

Bill Brewster Presents Tribal Rites is scheduled for November 3 release, with Dooley Silverspoon’s “Mr Deluxe (Part I + Part II)” (Bill Brewster Edit) exclusively available for download via the WeTransfer button below.


Disc 1

01. Agape “Rejoice”
02. Brent Dowe & The Gaytones “Reggae Makossa”
03. Apatchi Band “Issmak”
04. General Strike “Parts Of My Body”
05. Gaffa “Attitude Dancing (Land Of A 1000 Dunces)”
06. Urang Otan – “Walking In The Jungle”
07. Surprize “Stavolta”
08. Deborah & The Puerto Ricans “Side A Side B Side”
09. P!off? “Mein Walkman Ist Kaputt”
10. The Raincoats “Animal Rhapsody” (Version)
11. Ruts DC “Push Yourself” (Make It Work)
12. Motion “Crazy Beat”
13. Peter Accident “Turning Black”
14. Reggae Clinic 65 “Caravan (Dub Version)”
15. Jeff Duff “Walk On The Wild Side”

Disc 2

01. Bobbie Gentry “Thunder In The Afternoon”
02. Latin Breed “Maranatha”
03. Banzai “Rhythm Kung Fu”
04. Freddi & Henchi “Cartoon People”
05. Aax Donnell & Eric Malone “Golden Cage”
06. The General “Life In The Big City”
07. Final Edition “No Limit”
08. Sweet Potato Pie “Hot Disco Night (Are You Ready?)”
09. Little Reuben “(I Am) Drum”
10. General Crook “What Time It Is (Part II + Part I)” (Bill Brewster Edit)
11. Curtis Green “I Just Gotta Get Down (Part I)”
12. Nashville Rhythm Section “I Can’t Go For That”
13. Dooley Silverspoon “Mr Deluxe (Part I + Part II)” (Bill Brewster Edit)
14. Floyd Beck “Party Is The Solution”
15. Ströer “Don’t Stay For Breakfast”

Disc 3

01. Mother Tongue “Message Of Love”
02. B. McCarthy & Rasoul “Excursion 2”
03. Love From San Francisco “Keep Rockin'” (Thumping House Mix)
04. Larry Heard “Night Images” (Swayzak Early Mid Afternoon Mix)
05. Clifton King “Family Prayer”
06. Aural “Desire (Fabrice Africa Pain)”
07. Chicken Lips “Is That You Or Me (Ivan’s Flute Dub)”
08. Swag – “Primitive Urges 4 – Side C”
09. Maurizio “M-4 (A)”
10. Silverlining “Precision Spanner”
11. Kate-Olivia Martinez “Fire Walk With Me”