Lord of the Isles‘ debut album will drop on ESP Institute.

Neil McDonald, better known as Lord of the Isles, is an electronic producer based in Edinburgh, Scotland, who has released a number of deep, tripped-out EPs on the likes of Permanent Vacation, Mule Musiq and Unthank over the past few years. His first full-length release, In Waves, has been announced today—a collection of 15 of McDonald’s previously unreleased tracks, which were collated by the Scot and ESP Insitute together.

It is his first release on the New York imprint, who explain the album as an “assemblage of intimate stories that, as a whole, give us this wider view of his intense drive, his multi-faceted quiver of skill, and his ultimate obsession… beauty.” It is set follow the release of another EP by McDonald, on Edinburgh imprint Firecracker Recordings (due out this September).

In Waves will be released November 11. Stream “Skylark” below, via Boiler Room.


A1. Airgoid Meall
A2. Years Away
A3. Liobasta
A4. Obar Lìobhaite
B1. Weh-In
B2. Expansions
B3. Gualainn
B4. Yanomami
C1. Offline
C2. Three 2BU
C3. Gravity Waves
C4. Meserole Ave
D1. Skylark
D2. Plasma Nomad
D3. Jump