Taking a cue from the space jazz of his aunt, Alice Coltrane, the upcoming record from Flying Lotus promises to be one of the more mind-melting releases of 2010. Cosmogramma expands on the lauded sounds featured on FlyLo’s Los Angeles, bursting further into psychedelic realms of soul, evidenced by collaborations with harpist Rebekah Raff, bass virtuoso Thundercat, and a host of vocalists ranging from Thom Yorke to Laura Darlington. With Mary Anne Hobbs calling Flying Lotus the “Hendrix of his generation,” there is little doubt that Cosmogramma will only propel listeners deeper into the realms of aural consciousness.

Cosmogramma comes out May 4 on Warp.


01. Clock Catcher
02. Pickled!
03. Nose Art
04. Intro//A Cosmic Drama
05. Zodiac Shit
06. Computer Face//Pure Being
07. ..And the World Laughs With You ft. Thom Yorke
08. Arkestry
09. Mmmhmm ft.Thundercat
10. Do the Astral Plane
11. Satelllliiiiiteee
12. German Haircut
13. Recoiled
14. Dance of the Pseudo Nymph
15. Drips//Auntie’s Harp
16. Table Tennis ft. Laura Darlington
17. Galaxy in Janaki