Baje One, the MC half of Brooklyn-based hip-hop outfit Junk Science and erstwhile Nuclear Family member, has gone solo for a moment and laced fans with a new, free release. Despite claims on his MySpace page that his work alone isn’t truly solo, because he doesn’t make beats, the six tracks on The Weightless EP nonetheless find the artist firmly holding center stage. J. Howells Werthman and Scott Thorough of the Nuk Farm, as well as Therapy contributed to the beatmaking aspect of the release, which is available now through the Def Jux site.

Those in New York can catch Baje One and his other half, DJ Snafu, performing at the Mercury Lounge tomorrow night. Hopefully they drop this number at some point during the night.

Weightless EP Tracklisting
1. Pain in a Flash
2. Weightless
3. Computer Rock feat. King Gutta and Starpower
4. Lovely Days
5. I (no) O U
6. Mission Statement

Above: Baje One (right) with Junk Science partner DJ Snafu.