Techno mainstays Dave Sumner (a.k.a. Function) and Dominick Fernow (operating under his Vatican Shadow alias) have unveiled details of a collaborative album, set for release via Fernow’s own Hospital Productions label. The forthcoming Games Have Rules LP reportedly finds both artists stripping back their respective approaches to production—that is, the “dancefloor-focused techno structures of Function” and the “experimental cassette-roots of Vatican Shadow”—to create “dynamic electronic ambient music, equal parts rhythmic and atmospheric.” The press release goes on to state that the record began life as an “emotional acid” album intended for after-hours listening, and emulates the free-flowing structure often associated with improvised, long-form works.

Games Have Rules is officially due out on September 22, and both artwork and a full tracklist can be found below. Dates for album release parties planned for Berghain in Berlin, Output in New York, and Fabric in London have also been included, with additional events to be announced.

1. Things Known
2. Things Unknown
3. The Nemesis Flower
4. A Year Has Passed
5. A Year Has Gone By
6. Red Opium
7. Bejeweled Body

Sept 14: Berghain, Berlin
Sept 19: Output, New York
Nov 22: Fabric, London