Germany’s Bureau B has reissued two seminal Richard Pinhas albums from the ’70s and early ’80s, namely his sophomore solo LP, Chronolyse, and his fourth outing, East West

Influenced by a variety of artists in classical, psych, prog, and more, Richard Pinhas applied a vivid range of music to records he produced under his own name. Chronolyse and East West are critical windows into this journey and stand as defining works in the first wave of electronic music. 

Chronolyse takes its name from a book of the same name by sci-fi writer Michel Jeury, with many of the track titles referencing Frank Herbert’s Dune. Pinhas primarily recorded Chronolyse on a Moog synthesizer, shelving the music for two years before it was released in 1978 by Cobra. 1980’s East West is a much different record, taking synthetic textures, rhythms, and harmonies to even more unique terrains than its predecessors. 

Richard Pinhas is an acclaimed multi-instrumentalist from France, critical in the development of fusions between progressive rock music, electronic, and more. His imaginative and technical scope in music has produced an extensive collection of works over the last 40+ years, including collaborations with Pascal Comelade, Merzbow, Oren Ambarchi, and many more. 

Ordering options for Chronolyse and East West.

Tracklisting, Chronolyse 

01. Variations I Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

02. Variations II Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

03. Variations III Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

04. Variations IV Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

05. Variations V Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

06. Variations VI Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

07. Variations VII Sur Le Thème Des Bene Gesserit

08. Duncan Idaho

09. Paul Atreïdes

Tracklisting, East West 

01. Houston 69: The Crash Landing (Part 1)

02. Sense Of Doubt

03. Kyoto Number 

04. La Ville Sans Nom

05. Ruitor

06. West Side

07. Beautiful May

08. The Whale Dance

09. Houston 69 (Part 2)