Ghostly International‘s dance imprint Spectral Sound will return in September with an eight-track compilation titled Spectral 139

Despite the compilations’ wide-ranging selections, we’re told to expect a throughline of classic style and infectious energy from the up-and-coming and established artists alike. The release features work from the likes of Minimal Violence, Russell E.L. Butler, Earth Trax x Newborn Jr., Tadd Mullinix—who drops a  JTC remix of his new X-Altera alias—and Matrixxman, who collaborates with Riccardo Limiti on “Inferno.” 

The double-12″ compilation, as well as each individual single, features original work by Los Angeles-based artist Nina Hartmann. 

Along with the album’s announcement comes a first-taste in the form of Nigel Casenaan’s 1996 hardware jam “January’s End.” The origin of the track takes place in Toronto: Vergel Evans (a.k.a Nigil Caenaan) came home from seeing Jeff Mills play at the club Industry and felt a wave of inspiration. From there “January’s End” took shape. Initially released on a limited run of vinyl, it soon made it’s way to Detroit record shops where it ended up in the crates of DJs like Carlos Souffront and Frankie Bones.


01. Gunnar Haslam “Versione Antica”

02. Minimal Violence “Travel By Night”

03. Matrixxman & Riccardo Limiti “Inferno”

04. Russell E.L. Butler “Run Away With My Heart”

05. D’Marc Cantu “Regular People”

06. Earth Trax x Newborn Jr. “Paradox”

07. X-Altera “Entry” (JTC’s Sparkz Mahlecyul Remix)

08. Nigil Caenaan “January’s End”

Spectral 139 LP will land on September 21, with Nigil Caenaan’s “January’s End” streaming in full via the player below.