Noise-guitar enthusiasts should be jumping out of their chairs to go and buy The Right Kind of Nothing, the new North Valley Subconscious Orchestra release. The project marks the first collaboration between Brad Laner and Christopher Willits, and is an album loaded with enough guitar sculptures to keep even the most trained musical ears digging up new patters with each listen.

Laner, aka Electric Company, is a veteran of the music scene, having worked with Astralwerks, Tigerbeat 6, Planet Mu, and Brian Eno, to name a few. This project marks the first collaborative effort for Willits, whose roster of labels includes Sub Rosa, Headz, 12k, and Plop. If their resumes coupled with this first release say anything, expect great work from these two on successive albums.

The Right Kind of Nothing is out August 22, 2006 on Ghostly. Check out a full description of the album at XLR8R’s Top Ten Album Picks.

1. Pad Prik King
2. Neutral Buoyancy
3. Infantile Jargoning
4. Ceiling Transition
5. Telefon Ear
6. Napali Passage
7. Otitis
8. Shimokitazawa Face
9. The Song for Trainables
10. Moving Through Wood
11. Water Table Manners
12. Himnos Suburbanos
13. Cardamom & Dad
14. Hotel Margarine