Impulse! Records has long been home to some of the most influential jazz artists and boasts a catalog that contains classics by John Coltrane, Charles Mingus, Pharoah Sanders, and many more. In 1998 the label became part of the Verve Music Group, and as a result have expanded the styles of jazz on its album roster. Meanwhile, UK-based Giles Peterson has been no stranger to all styles of jazz during his career, and is a legend in his own right in the eyes of the music world. Pair the two together and you have Pure Fire! A Giles Peterson Impulse! Collection. Tracks on the album include a number of jazz selections, some never before released on CD, reflecting both the label and Peterson’s taste.

Pure Fire! A Giles Peterson Impulse! Collection is out now on Impulse!

Track List

1. Michael White “The Blessing Song”
2. Milt Jackson and Ray Brown “Enchanted Lady”
3. Max Roach “Lonesome Lover”
4. Art Blakey “Alamode”
5. Archie Shepp “I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good)
6. John Coltrane “Wise One”
7. McCoy Tyner “Three Flowers”
8. Dave Mackay and Vicky Hamilton “See You Later”
9. Oliver Nelson “Patterns”
10. Yusef Lateef “First Gymnopedie”