Hiatus Kaiyote drummer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Clever Austin (a.k.a Perrin Moss) has released his debut album with London’s Touching Bass and Melbourne’s Wondercore Island, titled Pareidolia

We’re told that the LP is a genre-bending sonic and emotive pilgrimage with virtuosic, percussive groove at its core. It was conceived via countless nights in Austin’s home studio and dreamily roams across 16 tracks which slowly unravel with the cinematic feel of a movie, all mixed and self-produced over a period of two years. It features Jon Bap, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Laneous, and CAZEAUX OSLO, plus a staggering amount of instrumentation from Alejandro Abapo (saxophone), Simon Mavin (upright piano), Jimmy Bowman (trombone), Taylor Crawford (frello), Tom Mansfield (electric guitar), and Paul Bender (acoustic guitar). 

The painting used for the cover artwork was contributed by Clever Austin’s mother, Judi Moss. 

Pareidolia LP is available now, with a stream available below and ordering options for the vinyl version here


01. Mist

02. Unipvich

03. Speckle

04. Blue Tongue (feat. Jon Bap)

05. Planet Viewing

06. Speckle Pt.2

07. Dime Head

08. Doves

09. Catapult (feat. Laneous)

10. Hedgehog

11. Mother Ship Strip (feat. CAZEAUX OSLO)

12. Ark

13. Higher Plains

14. You Are All You Need (feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow)

15. Sazeq

16. Utopia