Originally released in 2003, Ruff Draft proved to be a turning point in the career of late hip-hop producer James Yancey (a.k.a. J Dilla). The sample-heavy nature of the tracks, along with the aggressive synth work on the album gave the record a far more experimental tone in comparison to the minimal beats Yancey created for groups like A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul, and The Roots. But taking–and succeeding with–such musical risks only further established Yancey as one of the foremost producers in hip-hop.

The original 2003 release was only available on vinyl and limited in quantity. Since then Ruff Draft has proved an elusive find, and our hats go off to Stones Throw for releasing it on CD for the first time as well as including four bonus tracks and a second disc of instrumental versions of each track. For those who slept on this release the first time around, here’s your second chance to add one of the most defining works of Yancey’s career to your music catalog.

Ruff Draft is out March 20, 2007 on Stones Throw.

Disc One: Ruff Draft + Bonus Tracks
1. Intro
2. Let’s Take It Back
3. Reckless Driving
4. Nothing Like This
5. The $
6. Interlude
7. Make’em NV
8. Interlude
9. Crushin’ (Yeeeeaah!)
10. Shouts
11. Intro (Alt.)*
12. Wild*
13. Take Notice*
14. Shouts (Alt.)*

*Previously Unreleased

Disc Two: Ruff Draft Instrumentals
1. Let’s Take It Back–Inst.
2. Reckless Driving–Inst.
3. Nothing Like This–Inst.
4. The $–Inst.
5. Make’em NV–Inst.
6. Crushin’–Inst.
7. Intro (Alt.)–Inst.
8. Wild–Inst.
9. Take Notice–Inst.
10. Shouts (Alt.)–Inst.

All Previously Unreleased