Jake Dutton, who prefers to go by the graf-writer handle Jake One started off making beats in the mid-’90s for Seattle-based Conception records. Since then, he’s been able to straddle both independent and mainstream hip-hop, working for the G-Unit production team, while maintaining ties with underground artists.

Dutton will blend both worlds on his new album, While Van Music, out in October on respected indie imprint Rhymesayers–home to Brother Ali, Atmosphere, and Pslam One. The entirely self-produced new album features guest verses from MF Doom, Young Buck, Slug, M.O.P., Busta Rhymes, Little Brother, Prodigy, Keak Da Sneak, and more.

The results should surprise hip-hop fans that believe radio-driven artists only rhyme well over predictable canned beats. For White Van Music, Dutton has cooked up a set of soul-drenched and innovativly programmed backing tracks that draw on his extensive beat-digging library, as well as influences such as Pete Rock Dr. Dre, and others.

Other artists and collaborators signed on for the album include producer/MC Alchemist, Hiero crew’s Casual, Dilated Peoples MC Evidence, Detroit’s eLZhi, Royce Da 5’9″, De La Soul’s Posdnuos, and Ish (a.k.a. Butterfly of Digable Planets).

White Van Music
Track List
01 I’m Coming feat. Black Milk & Nottz
02 Gangsta Boy feat. M.O.P.
03 The Truth feat. Freeway & Brother Ali
04 Turn It Down
05 God Like feat. D. Black
06 Bless The Child feat. Little Brother
07 Oh Really feat. Posdnuos & Slug
08 Hi
09 Trap Door feat. MF DOOM
10 Dead Wrong feat. Young Buck
11 Kissin’ The Curb feat. Bishop Lamont & Busta Rhymes
12 How We Ride feat. Freeway
13 White Van feat. Alchemist, Evidence & Prodigy
14 Big Homie Style feat. J. Pinder, GMK & Spaceman
15 Scared feat. Blueprint
16 Great Sound
17 Get ‘Er Done feat. MF DOOM
18 Feelin’ My Shit feat. Casual
19 Soil Raps feat. Keak Da Sneak
20 Glow feat. eLZhi & Royce Da 5’9″
21 R.I.P.
22 Home feat. Vitamin D, C Note, Maine & Ish