No one avoids a pigeonhole like Tad Mullnix. Besides collaborating with the likes of Flying Lotus and Kode 9 for a new Dabrye release, the longtime member of the Spectral Sound family has been hard at work finishing a new album under his James T Cotton guise, trading hip-hop beats for sinister techno sounds.

Like No One, which will be released in vinyl and digital formats, calls to mind the days when the genre was about energy, not emotion (or cheesy vocals). And since Mullinix likes to keep his fans thinking while they dance, he has enlisted some help from Traxx, his Saturn V counterpart, and D’Marc Cantu, who he works with as 2AM/FM. The clash of identities arrives at stores tomorrow (February 12), also the same day Mullinix’s latest Dabrye EP drops.

Like No One Tracklisting
A1. The Second Night Cycle Feat. Ellis Monk
A2. Don’t Even Try It (The Beat)
B1. The Boxx
B2. Got to Let You Know
C1. Come into My Life*
C2. Lojak Pt. 5
D1. Sensational Rhythm**
D2. Possessed Amplifier

* = Saturn V track
** = 2AM/FM track

Photo by Will Calcutt