Photo: Catherine Lemblé

In 2017, Jameszoo opened Amsterdam Dance Event with a special collaboration with Jules Buckley and the Grammy-Award winning Metropole Orkest at the Melkweg concert hall. The recordings of this collaboration will be released via Brainfeeder on May 17. 

The performance saw Buckley, Chief Conductor of the Metropole Orkest since 2013, lead the 49-piece orchestra, plus Richard Spaven (drums); Niels Broos (organs, synths, Rhodes); Frank Wienk (percussion); John Dikeman (saxophone), and Jameszoo (real name Mitchel van Dinther) on electronics, synths, and Wurlitzer. Together, they elevated the compositions from Jameszoo’s 2016 album, Fool.  

“This was as wonderful as it was frightening,” says Jameszoo. “I was in great hands being guided by Jules and the orchestra. Because of them I could hear my compositions flower.” 

Jameszoo released Fool in 2016 via Brainfeeder. The record featured cameos from Brazilian composer Arthur Verocai and pianist Steve Kuhn, plus bassist Thundercat, keyboardist Niels Broos, and drummers Richard Spaven and Julian Sartorius. 


01. (flake)

02. (lose)

03. (toots)

04. (soup)

05. (nail)

06. (flu)

07. (meat)

08. (crumble)

09. (rolrolrol)

Melkweg LP lands May 17, with an album trailer and “(rolrolrol)” streaming below.