Jóhann Jóhannsson has shared a cut from his score for the film Arrival.

The Icelandic musician’s latest project comes in the form of another movie soundtrack, for the forthcoming Arrival. TheDenis Villeneuve production is based on Ted Chang’s sci-fi book “Story of Your Life,” and features Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, and Forest Whitaker. Jóhannsson’s score includes collaborations with Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (a.k.a. Lichens) and Hildur Guðnadóttir, as well as one track by Max Richter.

Jóhannsson wrote the soundtrack for 2014’s The Theory of Everything, 2015’s Sicario, and will also score the highly anticipated Blade Runner 2049 (another Villeneuve production).

Arrival will hit pictures on November 11. The soundtrack will be available to purchase the same day. Stream “Kangaru” below.


01. Arrival
02. Heptapod B
03. Sapir-Whorf
04. Hydraulic Lift
05. First Encounter
06. Transmutation at a Distance
07. Around-the-Clock News
08. Xenolinguistics
09. Ultimatum
10. Principle of Least Time
11. Hazmat
12. Hammers and Nails
13. Xenoanthropology
14. Non-Zero-Sum Game
15. Properties of Explosive Material
16. Escalation
17. Decyphering
18. One of Twelve
19. Rise
20. Kangaru

XLR8R Couldn't find the embed function for type: "spotify" and source: "<iframe src="https://embed.spotify.com/?uri=spotify%3Atrack%3A3niJunezMKnZSndiQAlF1R" width="300" height="380" frameborder="0" allowtransparency="true"></iframe>".