As Palette Recordings turns 22 years old, John Tejada will release his first release in two years, Live Rytm Trax.

The album follows recent efforts for Kompakt and a collaboration with Reggie, and is “geared more towards his own style of DJing,” described by the label as “more of a meditative exploration with tracks evolving and modulating but keeping a solid foundation in the groove.” 

It was conceived as Tejada‚Äôs new live PA focusing more or less on just one machine and making the most out of its limitations. After some live performances, the idea was to capture the spontaneity of the pieces live and perform and capture them in a studio. Rather than use the all too familiar home studio, Kenny Larkin offered up an invitation to record in his studio, the centrepiece being an API console. This provided the perfect opportunity to add a special sound signature to the songs providing a DAW-less production process using hardware instruments into analog console recorded straight to a Tascam one-bit recorder. The result is “a real time, organic experience with Tejada performing the pieces live with no overdubs or editing,” the label explains. 


01. Subsumed 

02. Irusu 

03. Sfumato 

04. Bdub 

05. Dr. Party 

06. Reminisce 

07. Celerity 

08. Zazz Function 

09. Soft Hue 

10. 126 bpm 

Live Rytm Trax LP will land on November 30, with “Reminisce” streaming below.