Khotin will re-release his Beautiful You album via Ghostly

Beautiful You was self-released last year by Dylan Khotin-Foote, the man behind the Khotin project. The album features no distinct storylines or themes: “It’s really just a collection of songs as rudimentary as that sounds,” Khotin-Foote explains. But the title of the album arrives with some lore: in high school, Khotin-Foote found a handwritten note on his windshield that read “Beautiful you, thanks for the smile.” The record’s cover is an ASCII-rendered photo of his mother and her parents living temporarily in Italy as refugees in the ’80s. 

Khotin-Foote is a Vancouver-based electronic artist and part manager of label Normals Welcome. Since his first album as Khotin, 2014’s Hello World, he’s moved freely between genre experiments, every move linked by distinct melodic sensibility. His dance-minded output—released on labels such as 1080p, Pacific Rhythm, DFA, Public Release, Normals Welcome, as well as his own imprints Khotin Industries and Waterpark—is offset by an interest in downtempo sound, the mood of stillness. 

With 2017’s New Tab, he explored the gentlest music of his career, tapping into a playful naiveté last felt in the bedroom projects of his teenage years. A response to DJ gig fatigue, the album offered a salve of synth arrangements mingling vintage electronic sounds with voicemail samples and other abstract chatter. Beautiful You is said to see Khotin-Foote refine, expand, and blur further this impressionistic, dream-like style of music. 


01. Welcome 

02. Water Soaked In Forever 

03. Levi’s Synth 

04. Alla’s Scans 

05. Vacation 

06. Dwellberry 

07. Looping Good 

08. Merged Host 

09. Somehow More Sad 

10. Planet B

Beautiful You‘ LP lands April 5, with “Dwellberry” streaming below.