Photo: Andrew Cotterill

Texan trio Khruangbin will release Hasta El Cielo, a dub version of their second album, Con Todo El Mundo, on July 12 via Dead Oceans/Night Time Stories. The full album has been processed anew, and comes with two bonus dubs by Jamaican producer Scientist. 

The band’s exotic, spacious, psychedelic funk aligns with the dub treatment well, and their fans won’t find this a surprising release. Dubs of tracks from their first album, The Universe Smiles Upon You, appeared  for Record Store Day 2016. 

“For us, dub has always felt like a prayer. Spacious, meditative, able to transport the listener to another realm. The first dub albums we listened to were records mixed by Scientist featuring the music of the Roots Radics. Laura Lee learned to play bass by listening to ‘Scientist Wins the World Cup.’ His unique mixing style, with the emphasis on space and texture, creates the feeling of frozen time; it was hugely influential to us as a band. To be able to work alongside Scientist, a legend in the history of dub, is an honor. This is our dub version of ‘Con Todo El Mundo.’— Khruangbin

Formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums, Khruangbin’s sounds are infused with classic soul, dub, and psychedelia. Since the release of Con Todo El Mundo, they have continued their almost non-stop approach to touring, playing over 130 dates in 2018 alone, most of them selling out well in advance. 


01. With All The World 

02. Sisters & Brothers

03. Mary Always

04. Four of Five

05. How I Love

06. Sunny’s Vision

07. A La Sala

08. The Red Book

09. Order of Operations

10. Hasta El Cielo

11. Rules—Scientist Dub (Bonus Track)

12. Cómo Te Quiero—Scientist Dub (Bonus Track)

Hasta El Cielo LP lands July 12, with “Mary Always” streaming in full below, and album pre-order here