Fans of all things techno, take note. Cologne-based imprint Kompakt Records is set to unleash the third installment of its Speicher (“Extra”) series, a collection of compilations showcasing the label’s best 12” tracks in a single mix CD.

This time around, labelhead Michael Mayer and Jorg Burger (a.k.a. The Modernist) take the reigns, steering the mix through melodic intros, peak-time dancefloor numbers, and straight into 4 a.m, dropping some of the freshest techno tracks Kompakt has released to date.

Superpitcher, DJ Koze, and Motiivi:Tuntematon make appearances here. In addition, Matias Aguayo (Closer Musik) teams up with Marcus Rossknecht, and working as Broke, the two showcase markedly heavier production work than we’ve seen from them in the past. Hannes Wenner and Christopher Bleckmann also show up, with a bag full of fuzzed-out electro-house courtesy of their Misc moniker.

Speicher 3 proves that the overall Kompakt sound has expanded far beyond the minimalist pop of Michael Mayer and Superpitcher. If nothing else, this third installment is astounding for what we think is the best track John Dahlback has ever written, “Wet Summer.” Enjoy.

Speicher 3 is out June 19, 2007 on Kompakt Extra.

1. DJ Koze “Na Cha Cha”
2. Davidovitch “Cellophane”
3. Superpitcher “Enzian”
4. Stardiver “Another moment of Silence”
5. Tom Pooks “Pablo Assan’s”
6. Axel Bartsch “Galaxy”
7. Broke “Overthat”
8. John Dahlback “Wet Summer”
9. Misc. “Status Now”
10. Motiivi:Tuntematon “I Don’t Feel Good (When You’re Not Around)”
11. Davidovitch “Insider”
12. Jurgen Paape “Fruity Loops #2”
13. Mayer/Voigt “Transparenza”
14. Axel Bartsch “Deal”
15. Motiivi:Tuntematon “Mankind Failed”