A decade ago, Loco Dice was opening for the likes of Usher, Ice Cube, and Snoop and honing in on his rap skills. Switching to house music—which he did around 2003—isn’t exactly a predictable next step, but unexpected surprises are something he likes to give his fans. A few of those are likely to crop up on his latest effort, the inaugural installment of a new compilation series NRK has dubbed The Lab.

The double-disc covers 27 tracks and over two hours of house music that Dice describes as “deep, groovy, chunky, driving.” Yes, those are generally the adjectives one finds thrown into discussions about the genre, but given Dice’s unique history, as well as his skills on the turntables, the compilation should satisfy discerning ears. NRK will release it on March 13.

The Lab – Loco Dice
Disc One
01 Akiko Kiyama – “Hakobi”
02 Second-Hand Satellites – “Orbit 1.3”
03 Chaton – “+91 Ahead Session 1.5”
04 Chris Lattner – “African Children”
05 Robert Dietz – “Klondike”
06 Onur Özer – “Eclipse (Loco Dice Remix)”
07 Kerri Chandler – “Pong (Ben Klock’s Bones & Strings Dub)”
08 MHM 1 – “Bubububadub”
09 Ion Ludwig – “Transnoir”
10 Damian Schwartz & Guti – “Sals—n”
11 Terrence Dixon – “Below Radar (Rhythm Is Rhythm Remix By Mathias Kaden)”
12 Someone Else – “You Don’t Got Me”
13 Alex Flatner feat. Lopazz – “Perfect Circles (Damian Schwartz Remix)”
14 Mirko Loko – “Serena”

Disc Two
01 Nick Holder – “Inside Your Soul (Sirus Remix)”
02 Jay Haze – “Mama Coca”
03 Terry Lee Brown Jr In A Deep Session With The Timewriter – “Everyday”
04 Loco Dice – “Black Truffles in the Snow – (Mike Huckaby’s The Jazzed Out S Y N T H Remix)”
05 DJ Ali – “You Don’t Know (Ruff Cut)”
06 Alix Alvarez – “Boom Bip”
07 Joseph Malik – “Believe And See (Plastic Avengers RMX)”
08 Franck Roger – “Take Off (Matt That’s House Bonus Beat)”
09 95 North – “Forever Underground (Bass Dub)”
10 Audio Soul Project – “Song For Fred”
11 Sascha Dive – “Deepest America (Samuel Davis Dark Soul Mix)”
12 Daso & Pawas – “Det”
13 Tyree Cooper – “Love”