Los Angeles-based jazz duo Black Nile will release their debut album, Sounds of Color, with World Galaxy/Alpha Pup Records

Black Nile consists of brothers Aaron and Lawrence Shaw, two multi-instrumentalists born and raised in LA with an acute understanding of music theory, improvisation, and the foundations forged by the pantheon of jazz giants. They cite Kamasi Washington, T.D.E, Nipsey Hussle, Tha Dogg Pound, Vince Staples, Terrace Martin, and Thundercat as a few of their influences, and label their music “The music of now.” 

Sounds of Color LP was recorded, mixed, and mastered at Daddy Kev’s Cosmic Zoo studio. Alongside the announcement, the brothers have shared “Jyro.” The track is dynamic in its compositional framework and experimental in tonality, shading subtle additives over a constantly evolving drum section, with simmering horns and keys. 

Sounds of Color LP lands May 17, with a stream of”Jyro” below, and album pre-order here


01. Black Nile Intro

02. Jyro

03. For You (feat. Kaylon Hallman)

04. Mystery

05. Ancient Futurism

06. Drive (feat. Tyler Cole)

07. Revival (feat. Tru)

08. Tidal Wave

09. Duo

10. Unheard 1

11. Unheard 2