A time-tested craftsman of textured electronic compositions, Vancouver sound artist Loscil has unveiled the details of his forthcoming Sea Island LP. The 11-track record will find the artist born Scott Morgan returning to longtime label home Kranky, an imprint he has released with since 2001. “The album represents a range of compositional approaches,” a press release explains, “Murky, densely textured depths of sound are explored with subtle pulses and pings woven within, contrasted with composed or improvised moments of acoustic instrumentation making a move into the foreground.” Though said to be “staunchly electronic at its core,” Sea Level will also feature moments of live instrumentation, with mostly piano and vibraphone adding “layers of live musicality, improvisation, and detail” to Loscil’s sonic landscapes.

Set to arrive on November 15, Sea Alone‘s meditative lead effort, “Ahull,” can be streamed/downloaded below, where the upcoming LP’s full tracklist has also been included.

1. Ahull
2. In Threes
3. Bleeding Ink
4. Sea Island Murders
5. Iona
6. Holding Pattern
7. Catalina 1943
8. Angle of Loll
9. Sturgeon Bank
10. En Masse
11. Angle of List