With their debut album Power set for release July 13 via Tri Angle Records, Houston-born, now Berlin-based, Lotic has unveiled a new single from the record, titled “Solace.”

Speaking about the new track, Lotic said: “‘Solace’ is my reminder to myself that no matter how hard things get, trouble doesn’t last always! Hang in there, it’s gon’ be ok! It’s my self-reminder that I actually am a fearless bitch and that experiencing pain or hardship is not a weakness but a moment for growth, for strength.”

Those familiar with Lotic’s two 2015 EPs—Heterocetera (Tri Angle) and Agitations (Janus)—will trace a warm-blooded evolution: we’re told that Power “retains the Berlin musician’s inquisitive intensity while mining the depths of nuance like never before.” 

It originally started as an empowerment album,” says Lotic. “I felt that I needed to offer something outside of myself, as sort of a healing moment. And then I lost my apartment. Mentally, I could only work on music once every three months or something. The question of what would be empowering—the answer to that changed so often over a two-year period. I had to figure out who I was all over again. With this record, I went back and incorporated all of my musical selves.

Lotic was born in Houston and studied electronic music composition and saxophone at university. They moved to Berlin in 2012, where they helped form the Janus club collective. In 2015, they were commissioned to create two remixes for Björk’s Vulnicura and subsequently were invited to be the opening act at her live show in Berlin.

As well as being available digitally, Power will be released on limited edition vinyl, housed in a die-cut sleeve designed by Marwan Kaabour, and will feature a vinyl-only exclusive track called “Burn A Print.”

The album artwork was shot by director and photographer Matt Lambert, styled by Rich Aybar and features Lotic wearing clothes designed by Iris Van Herpen.


01. Love and Light

02. Hunted

03. Bulletproof

04. Distribution of Care

05. The Warp and the Weft

06. Resilience

07. Fragility

08. Nerve

09. Heart

10. Power

11. Solace

Vinyl-only bonus track: Burn A Print.

Power LP will land on July 13 via Tri Angle Records, with “Solace” and “Hunted” streaming in full below.