Luke Slater will return as The 7th Plain with two new albums, again via Ostgut Ton’s A-TON sub-label. 

Slater’s previous appearance as The 7th Plain arrived back in 2016 when he launched A-TON with Chronicles I, establishing the sub-label as a platform for archive, ambient, and art-related releases. This first eight-track compilation was split between classics from the albums My Yellow Wise Rug and The 4 Cornered Room on the one hand and previously unreleased tracks on the other, with the goal of providing a different, remastered framework for Slater’s futuristic visions from the past. Now, with the release of Chronicles II and Chronicles III, as well as a special edition vinyl boxset, we’re told that “the journey continues further into outer and inner space.” 

Like its predecessor, Chronicles II is divided between previously released material from the aforementioned albums, as well as four unreleased tracks: “Silver Shinhook”, “Wand Star”, “I Think I Think Too Much,” and “JDC”.

In contrast, Chronicles III is made up solely of music from the General Production Recordings label catalogue and stylistically skews less toward percussive techno-funk and more toward free-form broken rhythms– though tracks such as “Lost,” “Time Melts,” and “Millentum.”

Aside from the special vinyl boxset (6×12“ LP), which includes Chronicles I–III, limited edition stickers, an essay by Joe Muggs, and a complete download code, all releases are available individually on CD, 2xLP, and for the first time in digital formats.

Tracklisting,  Chronicles II

01. Boundaries

02. Extra (The 7th Plain Remix)

03. Grace

04. Surface Bound

05. The Super 8

06. T Funk States

07. Slip 7 Sideways

08. Chords Are Dirty

Tracklisting, Chronicles III

01. Silver Shinhook

02. Astra Naut-E

03. Wand Star

04. Convex

05. I Think I Think Too Much

06. JDC

07. To Be Surreal

08. Big Field

Chronicles will arrive on December 14 via A-TON, with exclusive new track “JDC” now on Bandcamp. Anyone who preorders the album will receive the track to download.