Mute records is enjoying a very good year thus far, having already announced The Knife’s Silent Shout Deluxe CD/DVD, Motor’s metal-meets-electronic Unhuman, and now the debut full-length from British wunderkind Maps. The one-man act also known as James Chapman may not fall in the household-name category yet, but NME already featured his “Lost My Soul” in its top 50 singles of 2006, and, well, he just signed to the same label responsible for releasing the new Throbbing Gristle record.

We Can Create fits right in to the Mute catalog, given Chapman’s passion for atmospheric electro-rock akin to M83 shaking hands with Spacemen 3. Eschewing the false comforts of high-tech software, he prefers to construct his music with a beaten 16-track recorder, which just makes him that much more likable.

Chapman has already released the Start Something EP, now available through his own imprint, Last Space Recordings, and he’s set to release the It Will Find You EP (also on Mute) prior to launching We Can Create.

It Will Find You is out digitally on May 22, 2007, and and We Can Create is out June 19, 2007, on Mute.

1. So Low, So High
2. You Don’t Know Her name
3. Elouise
4. It Will Find You
5. Glory Verse
6. Liquid Sugar
7. To the Sky
8. Back + Forth
9. Lost My Soul
10. Don’t Fear
11. When You Leave