Over two decades ago, Marcel Vogel became musically inspired by one of the four elements of hip-hop while watching turntable DJs scratching rap records. Later on, Marcel began buying drum and bass on vinyl and was heavily influenced by listening to Derrick Carter as he mixed The Many Shades of CajualFast forward to today, where Vogel now celebrates 20 years of DJing while also constantly pushing out new talent from the helm of his two labels, Intimate Friends and Lumberjacks in Hell. Now the German-born, Amsterdam resident will celebrate five years of his Lumberjacks in Hell label with a new 2 x 12″ compilation LP titled From Hell with Love, coming out on October 5, as well as a supporting European tour.

The record will feature eight tracks from producers like Mahogani Music’s Dan Shake, Borrowed Identity, and Marcel Vogel himself. The record is touted as the ultimate package, and selections from it have recently been heard in sets by Patrick Luca, Jacques Renault, and Tooli. You can stream snippets of all the songs from the record right now on XLR8R, and you can catch Marcel Vogel on the From Hell With Love tour in Amsterdam during ADE.


A1. Giovanni Damico – “The Break Down”
A2. Marcel Vogel – “Come On”
B1. Borrowed Identity – “Queens Bridge”
B2. Boogie Nite – “Funk Dr Boogie”
C1. Tim Jules – “Slap beat”
C2. Hoshiana Anniversary – “Duke”
D1. Dan Shake – “To The Love”
D2. FYI Chris – “Banana Bread”

Tour Dates:

3 October | Storm Club. Juicy Boogie invites LIH. Lineup: Marcel Vogel, Schwa, Mr. Ultrafino, Biodan & Tazz
16 October Chalet: From Hell With Love / OYE Records. Lineup: Marcel Vogel, Mr Mendel
17 October Golem: From Hell With Love. Marcel Vogel, Mr Mendel.
30 October DJOON: From Hell With Love. Lineup: TBA
7 November Studio 80: Cheetah – 5 years Lumberjacks in Hell. Maurice Fulton, Rahaan, Marcel Vogel, Mr Mendel and Dikkens