Marie Davidson will release a new album via Ninja Tune, Working Class Woman. 

Working Class Woman is the Montreal-based producer’s fourth and “most self-reflective record,” the label explains, describing it as “a document of her state of mind, of operating within the spheres of dance music and club culture.” Drawing on her experiences, as well as an array of writers, thinkers, and filmmakers who’ve influenced her, Davidson explores her reaction to them and “pokes fun.” “It comes from my brain, through my own experiences: the suffering and the humour, the fun and the darkness to be Marie Davidson.” As she puts it, “It’s an egotistical album—and I’m okay with that.” 

The sound, we’re told, is “more direct than any of her previous outings.” She still mines the same influences, from italo-disco to proto-industrial and electro, but “leadens them with a gut-punching weight, making for a record that’s more visceral than any she’s released before.” This industrial heaviness is balanced by Davidson’s spoken text. 

The record builds upon the dancefloor-minded trajectory charted by her last solo album, Adieux Au Dancefloor [Cititrax / Minimal Wave], and is informed by a career which has spanned an ambient-influenced album as Les Momies De Palerme for Montreal’s Constellation label, her synth-disco styled duo DKMD with David Kristian, and Essaie Pas alongside husband and collaborator Pierre Guerineau.

The album’s first single, “So Right,” comes with a John Talabot remix. 


01. Your Biggest Fan 

02. Work It 

03. The Psychologist 

04. Lara 

05. Day Dreaming 

06. The Tunnel 

07. Workaholic Paranoid Bitch 

08. So Right 

09. Burn Me 

10. La Chambre Intérieure

Working Class Woman will land on October 5, with “So Right” plus the Talabot remix streaming below.