Bristolian duo Massive Attack has released a surprise EP today titled Ritual Spirit. The four-track EP landed via Virgin and EMI and features collaborations with Roots Manuva, Azekel, and Young Fathers. The duo’s latest record was written and produced by Robert del Naja and long-term collaborator Euan Dickinson. Perhaps the most exciting news about the new EP is the return of previous Massive Attack member Tricky, who hasn’t been featured on a Massive Attack album since 1994’s Protection. Massive Attack is expected to release a second EP and a full-length later in 2016.

Before its release today, Massive Attack revealed a sensory music player app for iOS named Fantom on January 23 that actively remixes pieces of music based on the user’s heartbeat, location, local time, and movement. Snippets of Ritual Spirit could be heard through the app prior to today’s official release and while it is far from perfected, the group promises that full functionality will be “coming soon.”

Preview the video for the track “Take It There” featuring Tricky & 3D, in the player above.


01. Dead Editors (Massive Attack & Roots Manuva)
02. Ritual Spirit (Massive Attack & Azekel)
03. Voodoo In My Blood (Massive Attack & Young Fathers)
04. Take It There (Massive Attack, Tricky & 3D)

Ritual Spirit landed today via Virgin/EMI.