U.K. trip-hop and future-jazz pioneers Massive Attack are releasing a new four-song EP, Splitting the Atom, this October, featuring appearances from dub legend Horace Andy and TV on the Radio frontman Tunde Adebimpe, among others. With remixes from Fever Ray producers Van Ray and The Subliminal Kid, the EP is a teaser for Massive Attack’s fifth studio album, which is due for release in February 2010 and features a star-studded cast of guests, from Damon Albarn to long-time collaborator Martina Topley-Bird. On top of all that, the group is headlining this year’s Bestival in London on Friday, September 11.

Massive Attack’s Splitting the Atom EP drops October 6 on Virgin Records.


1. Splitting the Atom
2. Pray For Rain
3. Bulletproof Love (Van Rivers and The Subliminal Kid Remix)
4. Psyche (Flash Treatment)